Lindale’s Johnson wins Justice of the Peace race

Primary voting took place in Lindale this past week at the Lillie Russell Memorial Library.
Primary voting took place in Lindale this past week at the Lillie Russell Memorial Library.

Smith County Precinct 5 voters chose Lindale’s Jon W. Johnson for their next justice of the peace after this past week’s primary election results were tabulated.

In unofficial but complete results, Johnson garnered 2,087 votes to 857 votes for Danny Brown and 564 votes for Darin W. Grissom.

There wasn’t a Democratic candidate on the primary ballot and since Johnson tallied more than 50 percent of the vote, there won’t be a runoff and he’ll assume the position next January.

Longtime Smith County Precinct 5 Justice of the Peace James Cowart announced last year he wasn’t going to seek re-election.

Also, Jacob Putman won a hotly contested Republican primary for Smith County District Attorney over Alicia Barkley, 12,658 votes to 9,914 votes.

As in the justice of the peace race, there were no Democrats seeking the office so Putman will be sworn in as the county’s newest DA, replacing Matt Bingham who didn’t seek re-election.

According to figures from the county, 21.9 percent – or 28,718 voters – cast ballots out of the 131,160 registered voters in the county.

In other races featuring unopposed candidates, Republican County Judge Nathaniel Moran will face Democrat challenger Michael K. Mast in November, while GOP incumbent Cole Hefner will take on Democrat challenger Bill Liebe in the District 5 State Representative race in November. Republican Matt Schafer defeated Ted Kamel in the District 6 State Representative primary.

Incumbent Jack Skeen Jr. was also unopposed and will retain his 241st Judicial District Judgeship, while Robert Wilson outpolled James A. Carter in the Republican primary for the 321st Judicial District, 10,841 to 8,876.

As far as statewide races were concerned, county voters backed Texas Gov. Greg Abbott over Barbara Krueger, 20,951 to 1,610 on the Republican side while on the Democratic side nine candidates were led by former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez with 1,097 votes to 949 for Grady Yarbrough and 824 for Andrew White. Valdez and White are headed for a statewide runoff in May to determine Abbott’s opponent in November.

Democrat Michael Cooper outpolled Mike Collier, 2,619 to 1,883 in the Lieutenant Governor’s race and on the GOP side, incumbent Dan Patrick defeated Scott Milder, 17,657 to 4,717.

Nationally, GOP U.S. Senator Ted Cruz and Democratic challenger Beto O’Rourke were the choices among state voters, with Smith County voters following that line as well.

Incumbent U.S. Representative Louie Gohmert will face Democrat Shirley McKellar in November and both were the favorite of Smith County voters on primary day.


Special Sections